Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Official: Treasury: WSC's minutes., 11 Oct 1925 - 27 Dec 1925

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/13A-B

Scope and Contents

Includes carbon copies of minutes from WSC to various individuals, mainly Treasury officials, including: Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance]; Sir George Barstow [Controller of Supply Services]; Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary]; Sir Russell Scott [Controller]; Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet]; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; Alfred Hurst; Sir Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue]; Sir Horace Hamilton [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise]; Edward Marsh [Private Secretary to WSC]; Financial Secretary [Ronald McNeill, later 1st Lord Cushendun]; Ernest Gowers [Permanent Under-Secretary for Mines]; Government Actuary [Sir Alfred Watson].Subjects include: various measures to reduce government spending; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces; the road fund; inter-allied debt; various tax and duty matters; unemployment; affairs in Northern Ireland; penny postage; WSC's relationship with Fisher; the proposed betting tax; relations with the Soviet Union; gold sales; Colonial Office reorganisation.


  • 11 Oct 1925 - 27 Dec 1925

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 bound files (202 folios))

Language of Materials


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.