Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: WSC's minutes., 01 Jan 1925 - 19 Sep 1925

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/12A-B

Scope and Contents

Includes carbon copies of minutes from WSC to various individuals, mainly Treasury officials, including: Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance]; Sir Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue]; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; Sir George Barstow [Controller of Supply Services]; Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary]; Edward Marsh [Private Secretary to WSC]; Financial Secretary [Walter Guinness, later 1st Lord Moyne]; Sir Horace Hamilton [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise]; Alfred Hurst; Sir Alfred Watson [Government Actuary]; Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin]; Foreign Secretary [Austen Chamberlain]; Sir Russell Scott [Controller].Also includes some notes by WSC for CSC's use; 2 notes (dated 30 June 1947) by Denis Kelly [WSC's literary assistant].Subjects include: social insurance; the gold standard; inter-allied debt; estimates for various government branches and the armed forces; affairs in Egypt, Sudan and the Middle East; ministerial salaries; unemployment levels; Greek affairs; the navy marriage allowance; various tax and duty matters; the Weir housing scheme; various matters concerning the Budget; the telephone service; Japanese naval expansion; widows' pensions; social services in Northern Ireland; imperial war graves; the steel trade; flying accidents.


  • Creation: 01 Jan 1925 - 19 Sep 1925

Conditions Governing Access



2 file(s) (2 bound files (241 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087