Skip to main content

Official: Treasury: correspondence mainly from WSC (carbon copies)., 17 May 1925 - 31 Dec 1925

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/11

Scope and Contents

Recipients include: 1st Lord Bledisloe [earlier Charles Bathurst, Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture]; Home Secretary [Sir William Joynson Hicks, later 1st Lord Brentford] (2); Secretary of State for War [Sir Laming Worthington-Evans] (2); Prime Minister Stanley Baldwin (8); President of the Board of Trade, Sir Philip Cunliffe-Lister [earlier Sir Philip Lloyd-Greame, later 1st Lord Swinton] (5); John Pease [later 1st Lord Wardington, Chairman Lloyds Bank]; Austen Chamberlain [Foreign Secretary] (5); Wilfrid Ashley [later 1st Lord Mount Temple, Minister of Transport]; First Lord of the Admiralty [William Bridgeman]; Sir Joseph Cook [High Commissioner for Australia]; 1st Lord Bradbury; 1st Lord Chalmers; 1st Lord Colwyn [earlier Sir Frederick Smith]; Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet] (2); Sir Herbert Samuel; Sir Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue]; Eva, Lady Keyes; Joseph Caillaux [French Minister of Finance] (3); James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer] (2); Sir Robert Sanders [later 1st Lord Bayford]; Sir Arthur Steel-Maitland [Minister of Labour] (2); Sir Samuel Hoare [later 1st Lord Templewood, Secretary of State for Air] (3); 1st Lord Stevenson on the rubber industry; Bolton Eyres-Monsell [Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasury]; Air-Marshal Sir Hugh Trenchard [Chief of the Air Staff]; Samuel Hammersley MP; Neville Chamberlain [Minister of Health] on the national health insurance scheme; 1st Lord Beaverbrook [earlier Sir Max Aitken]; Lieutenant-General Sir Aylmer Hunter-Weston; Sir George Lloyd on Lieutenant-Colonel Bertram Romilly; Lord Eustace Percy [President of the Board of Education] (2); William Cosgrave [President of the Executive Council of the Irish Free State, later Eire/Ireland]; Sir Frederick Ponsonby [later 1st Lord Sysonby, Keeper of the Privy Purse]; 1st Lord Birkenhead [earlier F E Smith, Secretary of State for India]; Sir Herbert Creedy [Permanent Under-Secretary of State for War].Other subjects include: estimates for various government branches and the armed forces; the steel trade; unemployment insurance; the coal commission; the Iraq mandate; safeguarding of various industries; inter-allied debt; the committee on expenditure in the fighting services; the road fund.


  • Creation: 17 May 1925 - 31 Dec 1925

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (169 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087