Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Official: Treasury: WSC's minutes., 16 Nov 1924 - 24 Dec 1924

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 18/3

Scope and Contents

Includes carbon copies of minutes and letters from WSC to various individuals, mainly Treasury officials, including: Sir Warren Fisher [Permanent Secretary]; Sir George Barstow [Controller of Supply Services]; Prime Minister [Stanley Baldwin]; Walter Guinness [later 1st Lord Moyne, Financial Secretary]; Sir Russell Scott [Controller]; Sir Otto Niemeyer [Controller of Finance]; Sir Horace Hamilton [Chairman, Board of Customs and Excise]; James Grigg [Principal Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer]; 1st Lord Birkenhead [earlier F E Smith, Secretary of State for India]; Sir Richard Hopkins [Chairman of the Board of Inland Revenue]; Sir Maurice Hankey [Secretary to the Cabinet]; Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster [1st Lord Cecil of Chelwood, earlier Lord Robert Cecil]; Edward Marsh [Private Secretary to WSC]; First Lord of the Admiralty [William Bridgeman].Subjects include: differences in the calendar, financial and tax years; war pensions; defence spending, including on Singapore; estimates for various government branches, such as the Ministry of Health, the navy, the Board of Education, the Air Ministry, and the Labour Department; Anglo-Persian Oil Company shares; inter-allied debt; imperial preference; interest rates; state insurance schemes; safeguarding of industries; super tax and estate duty; marriage allowances in the navy; telegrams from Persia [later Iran]; conversion operations; Colonial Office reorganisation.


  • 16 Nov 1924 - 24 Dec 1924

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (153 folios))

Language of Materials


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.