Skip to main content

Official: Colonial Office: correspondence., 02 Apr 1907 - 27 Apr 1907

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 10/24

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: 9th Lord Elgin and Kincardine [Secretary of State for the Colonies] on his working relationship with WSC and those attending the Colonial Conference; Francis Hopwood [later 1st Lord Southborough, Permanent Under-Secretary for the Colonies] on the Imperial Institute; ?George Bryce and the Archbishop of the West Indies [Enos Nuttall] on matters concerning the Jamaica earthquake, including publishing correspondence on the Governor's [Sir Alexander Swettenham] role and acquiring aid; Alexander Brade on recruiting unskilled labour in South Africa (2); Vaughan Nash and Henry Higgs [Private Secretaries to Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman, Prime Minister] on the committee on oriental studies; Henry Brodie MP, Charles Stonham, John Wason MP, Charles Schwann MP [later Charles Swann], and Charles Wilson MP [later 2nd Lord Nunburnholme] on the flogging of natives at Nairobi [British East Africa, later Kenya]; 3rd Lord Delamere on developing land in British East Africa [later Kenya and Uganda]; 2nd Lord Tweedmouth [First Lord of the Admiralty] congratulating WSC on becoming a Privy Councillor; Owen Philipps [later 1st Lord Kylsant], Chairman of the Royal Mail Steam Packet Company, on the West Indian mail service.Also includes copy letters from WSC to some of those mentioned above and from Edward Marsh [Private Secretary at the Colonial Office] to Walter Runciman [Financial Secretary to the Treasury].Other subjects include: South African trade.Also includes: cuttings on customs union and railway policy in the Transvaal [South Africa].


  • Creation: 02 Apr 1907 - 27 Apr 1907

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (73 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087