Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Official: Colonial Office: correspondence, mainly on South African affairs., 23 Apr 1906 - 30 May 1906

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 10/11

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: ?William Solomon; representatives of Reuter's Telegram Company Limited including Herbert de Reuter [Auguste Reuter] on WSC's criticism of Reuter's press coverage of South Africa (4); Frederic Creswell (2); Joseph Robinson (3); 3rd Lord Denman and Gordon Forbes on diamond mining in Rhodesia [later Zimbabwe and Zambia]; Flora, Lady Lugard on British administration in Nigeria (2); Cecil Grenfell; Joseph Chamberlain; 5th Lord Warwick and Moreton Frewen on the Eldama ravine [British East Africa, later Kenya] railway concession; 2nd Lord Selborne [Governor of the Transvaal and High Commissioner for South Africa] (3); Francis Hopwood [later 1st Lord Southborough], Permanent Under-Secretary for the Colonies; 3rd Lord Hindlip on banking facilities in British East Africa and Uganda; John Robertson MP on a South African socialist in an insane asylum; Sir West Ridgeway [Chairman of the Committee on the Transvaal Constitution] (3); Sir Henry Campbell-Bannerman [Prime Minister]; John Merriman; 9th Lord Elgin and Kincardine [Secretary of State for the Colonies] (7); Sir Frederick Pollock.Also includes drafts of telegrams and copy letters from WSC to those mentioned above and to Sir Walter Hely-Hutchinson [Governor and Commander in Chief, Cape Colony, South Africa] and Frederic Tatham [some in the hand of WSC's private secretary, Edward Marsh].Subjects covered in the file include: the repatriation of chinese labour from the Transvaal [South Africa], and alternative sources of labour for its mining industry; matters relating to the Transvaal Constitution, including the decisions of the Cabinet Committee; the Natal crisis; the case of a suspended guard on the Ceylon [later Sri Lanka] railway.Also includes: newspaper cuttings on chinese labour and Reuter's South African service; a postcard of chinese coolies sent by ?Adam Jameson [Commissioner of Lands in the Transvaal] to Selborne.


  • 23 Apr 1906 - 30 May 1906

Conditions Governing Access



1 file(s) (1 bound file (105 folios).)

Language of Materials


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.