Skip to main content

Political: Constituency, Epping [Essex]: correspondence., 05 Aug 1924 - 06 Nov 1924

Reference Code: GBR/0014/CHAR 7/1

Scope and Contents

Correspondents include: Sir Harry Goschen [Chairman of Epping Division Conservative Association] (8); F Stanley Jackson [Chairman of the Conservative and Unionist Party]; Sir Raymond Greene; James Hawkey, Vice-Chairman of Epping Division Conservative Association (2); Sir George Lloyd; Richard Colvin; Lord Balfour [earlier Arthur Balfour]; Lord Carson [earlier Sir Edward Carson]; Esmond Harmsworth [later 2nd Lord Rothermere]; Lord Rochdale [earlier George Kemp]; Sir Ian Hamilton; Ralph Bury; T E Lawrence ["Lawrence of Arabia"]; Sir Leonard Lyle [later 1st Lord Lyle of Westbourne]; Lord Wimborne [earlier Ivor Guest and Lord Ashby St Ledgers]; Hazel, Lady Lavery; Brendan Bracken (2); Albertha, Lady Blandford.Subjects include: selecting WSC as candidate for Epping; Irish affairs; support for WSC's candidature; campaign details; congratulations on WSC winning the seat; allotments; ex-Servicemen in the Civil Service; Prayer Book revision.Also includes: election pamphlets.


  • Creation: 05 Aug 1924 - 06 Nov 1924

Conditions Governing Access



1 item(s) (1 file (74 folios))

Language of Materials



Repository Details

Part of the Churchill Archives Centre Repository

Churchill Archives Centre
Churchill College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB3 0DS United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 336087