Skip to main content

Humanists: 'The Cambridge Humanists and the BBC'

Reference Code: GBR/0272/HUM

Scope and Contents

The collection comprises documents related to the Cambridge Humanists and their deputation to the BBC to argue the case for a Humanist presence on the air.


  • Creation: 1955 - 1979

Biographical / Historical

The Cambridge Humanists (CH) were founded in 1955 'for discussion, to hear talks by visiting speakers, and, in general, to give expression to the humanist point of view in the City and University of Cambridge'. Members included Prof. JD Boyd, JL Brereton, R Bryden [?KC 1951], Meyer Fortes (KC 1950), JSL Gilmour, CJ Goodchild, R[obin] L[apthorn] Marris (KC 1941), JW Miller, JR Northam, C[harles] C[ameron] D[eane] Shute (KC 1936), W[illiam] D[avid] J[ames] Cargill Thompson (KC 1951), R[obert] [Karel] Weatherall (KC 1950), KW Wedderburn, Noel Annan (KC 1935), Bertrand Russell, and Edmund R Leach (KC 1960) with support from D Daiches, E[dward] M[organ] Forster (KC 1897), F Hoyle, RA Lyttelton, G[eorge] E Moore, Mrs CD Rackham, Gwen Raverat, and Prof Sir Arthur Tansley.


6 envelope(s) : paper

Language of Materials



Routledge's file titles have been retained.

Former / Other Reference

Misc. 94

Immediate Source of Acquisition

This file was given by Norman Routledge in August 2005.

Related Materials

The BBC Written Archives Centre holds file 'Forster, E.M. RCont. 1 910. File 10A 1955-57' which relates to the Cambridge Humanists.


Routledge, Norman

2005-09-08 15:20:43+00:00
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Archive Centre, King's College, Cambridge Repository

King's College
Cambridge CB2 1ST United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 331444