Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Charvati (Mycenae village), 1921-1922

 File
Reference Code: GBR/3437/MCNE/3/2/20

Scope and Contents

All but one of this file of photographs were taken in late May and June 1921 by one of the archaeologists working at Mycenae and staying in lodgings in the nearby village of Charvati. C. A. Bo√ęthius annotated all of the prints on the v. in pencil with date and brief description. Charvati changed its name to 'Mycenae' in 1928. The village was a principal source of workers hired to excavate at the ancient archaeological site of Mycenae during all the seasons that the British team worked there.
A final print is by Joseph Waldis and features Mycenae pottery kept in a 'museum' in the village, presumably a storeroom in the house of Aristoteles Tsitsekos, before these items were taken to permanent storage in Nauplion Museum or the National Archaeological Museum in Athens. The pottery would have been excavated from the Chamber Tombs and the Lion Gate excavations.

Dates

  • 1921-1922

Extent

12 photographic print(s) (12 photographs) : photographs

Language of Materials

English

Repository Details

Part of the University of Cambridge: Faculty of Classics Archives Repository

Contact:
Faculty of Classics
Sidgwick Avenue
Cambridge CB3 9DA United Kingdom
+441223 335193