Prehistoric Cemetery, 1939-1962
Scope and Contents
The Prehistoric cemetery at Mycenae originates with Grave Circle A and adjacent graves under the Ramp House, South House and House of the Warrior Vase, all situated within the fortified acropolis. It extends well beyond the citadel to the north-west, towards the Hellenistic city walls. A. J. B. Wace and his team began to explore this extra-mural cemetery from 1939 onwards, locating 15 graves in that first excavation season. Work continued to uncover the Prehistoric cemetery during the excavation seasons of 1950, 1952 and 1953.
68 item(s) (68 items)
Language of Materials
Part of the University of Cambridge: Faculty of Classics Archives Repository
Faculty of Classics
Cambridge CB3 9DA United Kingdom