Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.


 Management Group
Reference Code: GBR/1934/C


  • 1478 - 2019

Biographical / Historical

The original Chapel was built in 1475/6: a donation was received in 1475 towards its completion, and the first licence from the Bishop of Ely (referring to it as made) is dated 15 Jan 1475/6. The foundations are thought to lie in the middle of the Main Court [some bones thought to be human were dug up there by the College gardener in the 1990s]. The present Chapel was consecrated in 1704, work is believed to have begun on it in 1697.


1 collection

Language of Materials


Related Materials

L/26 contains references to Chapel fittings. See also G/2/1/Evans.

Physical Description

Paper and digital

Date information

DateText: And undated..

2010-02-19 09:58:04+00:00
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the St Catharine's College Archive Repository

St Catharine's College
Cambridge Cambridgeshire CB2 1RL United Kingdom
+44 (0)1223 338343