Skip to main content

Fenland Research Committee: Minute book, and papers of Sir Grahame Clark, Hon. Secretary

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.9426

Scope and Contents

The Fenland Research Committee was formed on the7th of June 1932 by 'archaeological workers, who sadly felt the lack of essential geological, botanical and zoological knowledge'. Delegates were sent by Cambridge Antiquarian Society (M.C. Burkitt, G. Fowler, T.C. Lethbridge) and the Prehistoric Society of East Anglia (Reid Moir and J.G.D. Clark), and they and several others formed the first committee. Sir Albert.C. Seward was President, J. Grahame D. Clark, secretary. The material is either enclosed in the minute book itself or in an envelope that is attached to the book. Some attempt has been made to order the letters into their appropriate sections.


  • Creation: 1932-1948


Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


1 collection

Language of Materials


Immediate Source of Acquisition

Permanent transfer from Department of Archaeology and Anthropology, 1997, having been presented to the Department by Clark in 1993-94.

Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom