Skip to main content

Poems on sacred subjects

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.7942

Scope and Contents

'Versos cuerdos escritos por diferentes authores a asumptos sagrados', a collection of fifty-one poems by Fray Ortensio Paravicino (3), Fray Francisco de Aillon (3), Juan de Matos Fragoso (7) and Antonio de Mendoza (2), including his Vida da nuestra senora, with one each by Fray Juan de Avellaneda, Joseph Pellicer de Tovar y Abarca, Fray Juan de Vitoria, P. Juan Davila, 'S.J.', Fray Luis de Leon, Francisco Bravo de Guzman, Gabriel de Moncada, Gabriel de Rozas and Luis de Ulloa Pereira. There are also anonymous pieces, included the sonnet 'No me mueve mi dios para quererte'. The poems were written in three different hands during the seventeenth century, although not before 1647.


  • Creation: 1650 (circa)

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


1 volume(s) (1 volume)

Language of Materials


Immediate Source of Acquisition

The volume was formerly MSS 2406 and 24088 in the collection of Sir Thomas Phillipps, and was part of the sale of his library at Sotheby's on 26 June 1973 where it was bought by the Library.

Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom