Skip to main content

Colin Matthews: Papers relating to Deryck Cooke

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.10045

Scope and Contents

The collection contains papers relating to all work undertaken by Colin Matthews as a result of his input into the 1976 publication of the Mahler Tenth Symphony (specifically, revised scores on movements II and III marked up for the copyist) and from his work on the posthumous Cooke publications 'Vindications', 'Gustav Mahler', and 'I Saw the World End'.

Contents include photocopies of many Cooke pieces (lecture scripts, talks, programme notes, sleeve notes, articles, etc.) considered for inclusion in the posthumous publications; some annotated by Berthold Goldschmidt, Bryan Magee, and Hazel Hyde (then Smalley), correspondence, and music scores.


  • Creation: 1976-1982


Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


1 archive box(es) (1 box)

Language of Materials


Immediate Source of Acquisition

Donated by Colin Matthews July 2011

Related Materials

The personal archive of Deryck Cooke is held in MS Add.10186.

Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom