Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Admission (copy), Witcham, Cambridgeshire

 Fonds
Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Doc.1815

Scope and Contents

Certifying that Capt John Thompson RN of Connaught Square, Paddington, Maria (nee Hamiul) his wife, and Rosalinda Foss (nee Hamiul) of Calais, widow, in consideration of #110, have surrendered on 19 Jan 1829, by the hands of the deputy-steward John Curtis, their interest in a 2-acre tenement in Burn Hill Field ('a Cow Croft') and sheepwalk, manor of Witcham (see Doc 1814), to the use of William Nix of Somersham, farmer, who is now admitted tenant in the same at an unchanged annual rent. Copy of court roll, examined by Hugh Robert Evans, steward of the manor, duty stamps. Lords of the manor are the dean (James Woods DD) and chapter of Ely cathedral. Attached is an accurate acerage (just over 11 acres) and an allocation of Nix's responsibility for fencing, signed by Alex Watford, surveyor, undated, addressed to Nix, with Chatteris and Ely postmarks.

Dates

  • 15 May 1829

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Extent

1 item(s) (vellum) : vellum

Language of Materials

English

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements

Uses both parchment and paper

Immediate Source of Acquisition

Presented by E.A.B. Barnard, F.S.A., November 1931

Language of description
English
Script of description
Latin

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom