Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Correspondence on the Observatory's removal, 1938 - 1946

 File
Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 8/4

Scope and Contents

Correspondence concerning the removal of the Royal Observatory to Herstmonceux and the proposed new sites, including estimates for the cost of building and re-erecting the telescopes on the new site; minutes of the proceedings of the Board of Visitors of the Royal Observatory, 2 June 1945; a report on the new site by the Board of Visitors; details of inspections of proposed sites; meteorological reports; and correspondence with the Southern Railway Company.

Dates

  • 1938 - 1946

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Extent

1 bundle(s) (1 bundle)

Language of Materials

English

Former / Other Reference

A18

Finding aid date

2006-04-24 14:53:54+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.