Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Correspondence on the Observatory's removal, 1938 - 1949

 File
Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 8/1

Scope and Contents

Correspondence, memoranda and other papers concerning the removal of the Royal Observatory to Herstmonceux, including material on site requirements; lists of sites considered; minutes of the Board of Visitors Committee regarding the need to move the Observatory; correspondence with E.V. Appleton of the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research; and papers on the curtailment of the Observatory's activities due to its move and the Second World War.

Dates

  • 1938 - 1949

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Extent

1 bundle(s) (1 bundle)

Language of Materials

English

Former / Other Reference

A1

Finding aid date

2006-04-24 14:53:40+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.