Skip to main content

Papers on appointments, 1870 - 1913

Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 7/7

Scope and Contents

Papers regarding appointments, regulations and salaries:

(1) Enquiries and applications for employment as assistants at the Royal Observatory, 1900-1913. The applicants are:

1900: F. Taylor.

1904: H.J. Bellamy, E.G. Constable, W.A. Holmes and C. Egerton-Wragge.

1905: T. Kimber and E.W. Metcalfe.

1906: C.G. Browne, C.E. Wright, B.A. Bull and A. Andrews.

1907: E. Carpenter, T.C. Wetton, R. Coombes and R.H.C. Christman.

1908: The Revd M. Langdale, S.S. Nairn and H. Blackett.

1909: T.G. Strain, C.W. Casswell, J. McCowan, W.H. Tapp and J.W. Grundy.

1910: H.T.H. Butt, J.A. Maxwell, O. Roper, M.H. Gibb, J.H. Hodge, F.W. Withers, A.G. Tanant, E. Addison and W.H. Waterfield.

1911: Miss M.A. Trehearne, R.E. Rennoy, C. Brownlow, Mrs M. Steppings-Wright, E. Breson (including photograph and testimonial) and A.E. Blackall.

1912: G. Duffield, R. Fowler (including testimonials), H. Bloisins, A. Varley, R.S. Capon, C.A. Gould, I. Kemal, P. Plappert and J.C. Clancy.

1913: J.H. Morris, H. Job, A.A. Allan and L. Chaplin.

(2) Applications for appointments as assistants at the Royal Observatory, c. 1870-1902. The applicants are:

[1870] T. Tyson, W. Freeman, R. Lines, D. Arkell and H. Pinder.

1893: M.J. Berry, H. Lawton, T. Höppner, J.A. Scott, T.T. Mains and L.A. Taylor.

1894: W.E. Besley, R. Hewitt, S. Patterson, H.E. Lee, A. Hitcher, H.W. Ride, A.E. Larkman, W. Shackelton, J. Brown, A. Solomon, P. Wittich, G.H. Darwin, J. Craig, F.H. Kitchen, T. Mansell, E. Simmons, C.C. Garner Richards and H. Wimpers.

1895: F.S. Craven, J.A. Clacton, J. Cassin, J. Jacob, G.L. Thomas and C.E. Wright.

1896: A.E. Lyster, B. Hunter, F.E. Baxandall, F.W. Gray, H.J. Moorland, Sir Howard Grubb and F.H. Jeffrey.

1897: G. Atkinson, H.W. Geare, J. Levy, R. Plato, B. Cohen, F.W. Henkel, S. Baudry and A.C. Phillips.

1898: A. Riches, F.P. Bell, G.E. Maddison, W. Bell, A.G. Kayser, W. Abraham, L. Bramley-Moore, F. Percy, A.B. Clementson and Miss H. Jackson.

1899: T. Butler, R. Stoley, G.C. Avery and D. Hanbury.

1900: Miss C. Squire and R. Casson.

1901: A.J. Clark, E.J. Brown and A. McKinstry.

1900: W.B. Moreton.

1901: J. Ingleby, F.W. Gerrish and Miss M.G. Spencer.

1902: M.A. LeBeau, A. Stacey, W.H. Shepard, B. Cousens, A. Pearl and B.E. Andrew,

(3) Correspondence dealing with a request from the Astronomer Royal for the Admiralty to pay overtime to the Established Computers at the Royal Observatory, 1903.

(4) Correspondence on the proposed revised scheme for the examination of Established Computers, 1897-1912.


  • Creation: 1870 - 1913


Conditions Governing Access

From the Management Group:

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


1 bundle(s) (1 bundle)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference


Finding aid date

2006-03-30 10:39:22+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom