Skip to main content

Letters to Parkes and others, 1831-1893

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Parkes 1

Scope and Contents

Correspondence and related items, consisting chiefly of letters to Parkes. Some of the documents are undated. The regular correspondents are Sir Rutherford Alcock, William Thornton Bate, Sir John Bowring, Max August Scipio von Brandt, Sir Frederick William Adolphus Bruce, Arthur Davenport, (Baron) Edmund Hammond, Patrick Joseph Hughes, John Robertson and John Russell Young. Other correspondents include William George Aston, Byron Brenan, Sir William Montagu Dowell, Robert James Forrest, Sir Robert Hart, William Holland, Sir Edmund Grimani Hornby, Charles Thomas Maude, Sir Daniel Brooke Robertson, Alexander Georg Gustav von Siebold, Sir Hiram Shaw Wilkinson and Charles Alexander Winchester. The letters are to Parkes unless otherwise stated.


  • Creation: 1831-1893


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

Any person wishing to consult the collection must obtain written permission from Matheson and Co. Ltd. Applicants may submit their request an application form which is available from the Manuscripts Reading Room and via the University Library web pages at They should state specifically on the form that they desire access to the Parkes Papers.


3 archive box(es) (3 boxes)

Language of Materials


Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom