Skip to main content

Prize-giving ceremonies, 1924-1939 (Circa)

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.8900/5

Scope and Contents

From the Fonds:

Minutes, accounts, lists of books recommended and considered, letters from English and French committee members and prizewinners, and newscuttings. Letters from prizewinners: Percy Lubbock, Mary Webb (6), Radclyffe Hall, Virginia Woolf, H.M. Tomlinson, Charles Morgan (7), Stella Gibbons/Webb (4), Elizabeth Jenkins (2), L.H. Myers (2), Margaret Lane, Richard Church (2), and Robert Graves. Letters from French prizewinners: Joseph Kessel, François Mauriac, Marion Gilbert (2), étienne Burnet (3), Julien Green (3), Céline Lhotte (3), Léandre Vaillat (3), Jean Giono (2), Jean Schlumberger, André Chamson, Pierre Marois (8), Henri de Montherlant (3), Armand Lunel, Elvire Pélissier (5), and Guy de Pourtales (2). Letters from presenters of prizes: Edmund Gosse, John Galsworthy (4), Hugh Walpole, Sir Anthony H. Hopkins (4), André Marois (8), Harley Granville Barker (2), Harold Nicolson, J.L. Garvin (2), Philip Guedalla, E.M. Forster (3), Denis Saurat, Max Beerbohm (2), Sir William Rothenstein (3), H.G. Wells, H.A.L. Fisher, J.B. Priestley, Sir M.E. Sadler, Desmond Maccarthy (2), and Jacques de Lacratelle. Letters from the French committee: C. Reymond de Broutelles (49), Germaine Beaumont, Mary Duclaux (7), Helen Granville Barker (2), J. Heller, Comtesse Jean de Pange (3), and Gabrielle Réval (2). Letters from the English committee: Laura Bell, Mai Bohn (Mrs. Norman) (4), Ann Bridge (Mary O'Malley) (8), Lady Ethel Dilke (2), Ella Hepworth Dixon, Sheila Fry (Sheila Kaye-Smith) (9), Viola Garvin (3), E. Mary Goodman (3), Cicely Hamilton (2), Beatrice Harraden (3), Violet Hunt Hueffer (4), Enid, Lady Jones (Enid Bagnold) (6), Margaret Kennedy (Mrs. Davies) (6), Rosamond Lehmann (Mrs. Philipps) (12), Sylvia Lynd (11), Ethel Colburn Mayne (11), Kate O'Brien (7), Elizabeth Robins (2), Gladys Bertha Stern (5), Netta Syrett (4), Rebecca West (14), Amabel Williams-Ellis (3), and Margaret L. Woods (12).


  • Creation: 1924-1939 (Circa)


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


6 envelope(s) (6 envelopes)

Language of Materials


Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom