Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

King's House, 1908 - 1910

 Item
Reference Code: GBR/0115/RCS/Y3073B/15

Scope and Contents

232 x 178 mm. A view from the lawn showing the back of the new King's House in St. Andrew on the Liguanea Plain (a different building to that in Spanish Town seen in plate 9). The building, designed by Sir Charles Nicholson after the former Kings House, Bishop's Lodge, had been destroyed in the earthquake of 1907. It is constructed from reinforced concrete and comprises three floors with rooms arranged around an open patio.

Dates

  • 1908 - 1910

Creator

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Language of Materials

English

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements

Good condition.

Related Materials

Refer to Y3073D/19 for a view of the former Kings House, Bishop's Lodge, which was destroyed in the earthquake of 1907.

General

GD.

Date information

DateText: The date is approximate..

Originator(s)

Adolphe Duperly and Sons

Finding aid date

2002-11-11 10:29:32+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.