Skip to main content

Commonwealth Finance Ministers Meeting in London, 1982

Reference Code: GBR/0115/RCS/COI/F/80

Scope and Contents

190 x 240 mm. Representatives of the member countries are seen here at Marlborough House after the opening session of the meeting. Front row (l to r) Mr H D Hoyte, Vice President for Economic Planning and Finance, Guyana; Mr A M A Muhith, Minister of Finance and Planning, Bangladesh; The Hon Allan J MacEachen, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Canada; The Hon Victor I. Masi, Minister of Finance, Nigeria; The Rt Hon R D Muldoon, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, New Zealand; HE Mr Shridath S Ramphal, the Commonwealth Secretary General; The Rt Hon Sir Geoffrey Howe, Chancellor of the Exchequer, Britain; The Hon M Eugenia Charles, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Dominica; The Rt Hon Edward P G Seaga, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Planning, Jamaica; The Hon A H Jamal, Minister of Finance, Tanzania; The Hon John Howard, Treasurer, Australia; The Hon Pranab Mukherjee, Minister of Finance, India.

Second row: The Hon Arthur K Magugu, Minister of Finance, Kenya; The Hon John E St Luce, Minister of Works, Antigua and Barbuda; The Hon P S Mmusi, Minister of Finance and Development Planning, Botswana; The Hon Arthur D Hanna, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Finance; The Bahamas; The Hon Lino Spiteri, Minister of Finance, Malta; The Rt Hon Milton Cato, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, St Vincent and the Grenadines; The Hon Ronnie de Mel, Minister of Finance and Planning, Sri Lanka; The Hon J Compton, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, St Lucia; The Hon S Vasiliou, Minister of Finance, Cyprus; The Hon George Price, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Belize; The Hon James C Cocker, Minister of Finance, Tonga; Dr The Hon T G Chidzero, Minister of Finance, Zimbabwe; Cde Bernard Coard, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Planning, Finance and Trade, Grenada.

Third row: Mr C J Small, Deputy Secretary General, Commonwealth Secretariat; Dr Ling Liong Sik, Deputy Minister of Finance, Malaysia; HE Mr E R Kamuntu, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, President’s Office Minister of Finance, Uganda; The Hon Bartholomew Ulufa’ Alu, Minister of Finance, Solomon Islands; The Hon Sheriff S Sisay, Minister of Finance and Trade, The Gambia; The Hon L C Chaziya, Minister of Finance, Malawi; The Hon H L Stout, Chief Minister and Minister of Finance, British Virgin Islands; The Hon J L F Simelane, Minister of Finance, Swaziland; The Hon Sir Thomas Davis, Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Cook Islands; The Hon Salia Jusu Sheriff, Minister of Finance, Sierra Leone; The Hon C A Jacelon, Minister of Finance, Trinidad and Tobago; The Hon Kalpokor Kalsakau, Minister of Finance, Industry and Tourism, Vanuatu; The Hon K T J Rakhetla, Minister of Finance, Lesotho; The Hon K Musokotwane, Minister of Finance, Zambia; Dr The Hon Tony Tan Keng Yan, Minister for Trade and Industry, Singapore.

Back row: The Hon Simeon Daniel, Minister of Finance and Nevis Affairs, St Kitts-Nevis; The Hon Pehin Dato John Lee, State Financial Officer, Brunei; HE Ratu Josua Brown Toganivalu, High Commissioner, London, for Fiji; Mr Madhurkarlall Baguant, Financial Secretary, Mauritius; HE Dr Alexis H Sarei, High Commissioner, London, for Papua New Guinea; Dr The Hon Kwesi Botchwey, Provisional National Defence Council, Secretary for Finance and Economic Planning, Ghana; Mr G J Morel, Principal Secretary, Department of Finance and Industry, Seychelles; The Hon J David Gibbons, Minister of Finance, Bermuda; Mr J H Bremridge, Financial Secretary, Hong Kong; Senator C Griffiths, Parliamentary Secretary, Office of the Prime Minister, Barbados; Dr Bishnu Persaud, Conference, Secretary, Commonwealth Secretariat.


  • Creation: 1982


Conditions Governing Access

From the Fonds:

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (

Language of Materials


Finding aid date

2011-11-23 09:21:10+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom