Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Halifax Memorial Tower Lions, 1912 - 1913

 File
Reference Code: GBR/0115/RCS/ARCS/12/3

Scope and Contents

The National Memorial Tower at Halifax was erected to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the first elected legislature of Nova Scotia on 2 Oct. 1758. It was dedicated by the Governor-General of Canada, the Duke of Connaught, on 15 Aug. 1912. Sir Sandford Fleming suggested that the RCI become involved, and two bronze lions, modelled on those at the foot of Lord Nelson's column, were installed in 1913. This file contains archives related to the project.

Dates

  • 1912 - 1913

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

Extent

1 file(s) (1 file) : paper

Language of Materials

English

Physical Characteristics and Technical Requirements

poor condition

Originator(s)

Royal Colonial Institute

Finding aid date

2012-11-16 12:48:28+00:00

Includes index.

Creator

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Contact:
Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom


The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.