Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Melbourne Observatory and RTC, 1920 and 1947

Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 91/8

Scope and Contents

The Melbourne Reversible Transit Circle, built in 1883, was shipped to Greenwich in 1947 for installation at RGO Herstmonceux. It was never installed or used there however, and was instead returned to Melbourne in 1978.


  • 1920 and 1947

Conditions Governing Access

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


2 folder(s) : paper; black and white photographs


Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom