Skip to main content

Papers on the International Union for Geodesy and Geophysics, 1938 - 1939

Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 9/610

Scope and Contents

Correspondence concerning meetings, membership and reports of the Terrestrial Magnetism Sub-committee of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics. The correspondents include Professor S. Chapman, Dr J.A. Fleming, A.H. Goldie, Captain Heck, M. Maurain, Dr G.S. Ljungdahl, Dr T.W. Warmell, Professor F.J.M. Stratton, Professor E.V. Appleton, Dr J. Bartels, F.J. Whipple, J.G. Jeans and Professor Eve. The papers include a report of the Magnetic Chairs Sub-committee, with comments; resolutions adopted for discussion in Washington magnetic observatories in the U.S.A.; correspondence with Dr Ljungdahl concerning the basis for the future work of the committee; correspondence concerning T.W. Wormell's work on atmospheric electricity; correspondence concerning the British National Report on Terrestrial Magnetism; and correspondence with the Meteorological Office at the Air Ministry concerning the classification of papers on magnetism.


  • Creation: 1938 - 1939


Conditions Governing Access

From the Management Group:

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


1 bundle(s) (1 bundle)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference


Finding aid date

2006-06-07 12:38:15+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom