Skip to main content

Papers on the International Union for Geodesy and Geophysics, 1938 - 1963

Reference Code: GBR/0180/RGO 9/608

Scope and Contents

Correspondence and papers regarding the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, including correspondence concerning its meetings and General Assemblies in Washington, Helsinki, Toronto, Rome, Brussels and Zurich; programmes of meetings; and material concerning sub-committees, delegates, travel arrangements, funds, expenses, etc. There is further material, including correspondence on membership and officers of committees, reports, circulars and proposals, relating to H. Spencer Jones, M. Tardi, Professor Nagata, Dr T. Elvius, Dr Graaff-Hunter, Dr R. Stoneley, Professor G. Silva, Professor J.F. Cox, Dr J. Bartels, Professor G. Cecchini, Professor Edm. Layhaye, Professor Chapman, Professor Lindblad, Dr R. Platzeck, Professor O. Thomas, Professor J.H. Oort, Dr Norland and R. Atkinson. The papers include the following items:

Report to Committee 4 on geomagnetic secular variation for the Epoch 60.0, 1963.

Notice of the U.S.S.R.'s adherence to the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, 1955.

Correspondence with Professor Kopff regarding the revision and supplement of F.K.3, 1954.

Correspondence with Professor Silva, 1954, concerning cooperation in the World Longitude Programme of 1957-1958.

Report by J.F. Cox titled 'The Precision of the Determination of Geographical Co-ordinates', 1954.

Correspondence with Professor P.T. Oosterhoff and a notice concerning changes in the 1955 programme of the International Latitude Service, 1954.

Correspondence with Professor Lahaye concerning sites for new magnetic observatories, 1954.

Circular concerning a report from Japan for the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, 1952.

Report on the work of the Association of Terrestrial Magnetism and Electricity Committee and correspondence concerning the nomination of Dr Bartels as President, 1951.

Abstracts from minutes of an Oslo meeting, August 1948.

Lists of officers and special committees of the I.A.T.M.E. appointed at the 8th General Assembly, August 1948.

Correspondence between Captain Roberts and H. Spencer Jones regarding observatory publications, 1949.

Correspondence between H.F. Johnston and R. Atkinson, 1950.

Minutes of a meeting of the Commission on Meridian Astronomy, August 1948.

Correspondence of H. Spencer Jones, R.M. Field and Professor Oort concerning a joint meeting of the Commission on Continental Structure and the Committee on the Social Value of Earth Sciences, 1947.

Correspondence regarding the I.U.G.G. General Assembly in Washington in 1939, including arrangements for H. Spencer Jones travelling, visas, Admiralty approvals and the cancellation of all arrangements due to the international situation, 1938-1939 . There is correspondence with Professor Schlesinger, Dr S.A. Mitchell, Father J. Lynch, Dr Fielder and H. Shapley.

Papers regarding a proposal by Professor Chapman for a resolution for the Sub-committee for Terrestrial Magnetism, 1938.


  • Creation: 1938 - 1963


Conditions Governing Access

From the Management Group:

Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (


1 bundle(s) (1 bundle)

Language of Materials


Former / Other Reference


Finding aid date

2006-06-07 12:38:09+00:00

Includes index.

Repository Details

Part of the Cambridge University Library Repository

Cambridge University Library
West Road
Cambridge CB3 9DR United Kingdom