Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Black Horse Drove Mixed School (1876-1937)



  • Existence: 1876-05-19 - 1937 (Not Before)


Despite the efforts of the National Society for Promoting Religious Education to construct three new schools in the Littleport area between 1869 and 1970 the number of school places available was insufficient to meet local demand. In 1876 the Littleport School Board opened Black Horse Drove Mixed School with thirty children admitted on the first day, 19 May under Headmistress Jessie J. Brown. The school premises measured 40 feet by 20 feet by 14 feet and, like the Little Ouse School, were not fit for purpose due to poor structural condition. In 1937 the Black Horse Drove school closed, its students being transferred to the new Coronation County Primary Junior Mixed and Infants' School.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:


Logbook of the Black Horse Drove Mixed School

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.10442
Scope and Contents Contains brief notes on the activities of the school from its opening on19 May 1876 to 3 January 1895. Daily entries may include information on admissions and discharges, weather, attendance, examinations, discipline, subjects taught and the observations/recommendations of inspectors. Names of teachers and visitors appear throughout the volume with the names of individual children appearing inconsistently. The final pages of the volume include object lessons and recitations for the school...
Dates: 1876-1894
Conditions Governing Access: Open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library.