Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.
Ely was a Benedictine abbey first founded by St Etheldreda in 673. It had extensive lands and endowments in the Isle of Ely and Cambridgeshire. In 1109 the diocese of Ely was formed (out of Lincoln diocese), and the Abbot of Ely became the first Bishop, the Prior then becoming the head of the monastery. At the Reformation the monastery was dissolved, and a Chapter of a Dean and eight Prebendaries (or Canons) was established. The Chapter (now a Dean and two Canons) remains the governing body of the cathedral.
Found in 1 Collection or Record:
Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS EDC
Scope and Contents
The archives consist of the administrative records of the cathedral, the College (or close), the extensive manors and estates of the Dean and Chapter, and include records of the medieval monastery, the `Prior and Convent' of Ely. There is also a small number of records about the Cathedral School. The monastery (later the Dean and Chapter) was a considerable landowner in the area and this collection is a superb source of information about social and economic history and agriculture in the...
Conditions Governing Access:
Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact email@example.com. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).