Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

The Book Collector

 Organization

The Book Collector, a quarterly journal, began publication in 1952. Its original editorial board was Ian Fleming (who provided financial backing), John Hayward, and Percy Muir. Early editors were Christopher Dobson (1952) and Philip Gaskell (1952-4); but Hayward took over thereafter and served until his death in 1965. He was succeeded the next year by Nicolas Barker, the present editor.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

 Fonds

Papers of The Book Collector

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.9984
Scope and Contents The collection contains correspondence of the two editors John Hayward and Nicolas Barker; 'article files'; various other editorial files; and business papers mainly relating to The Collector Ltd. (a holding company created in 1955).
Dates: 1951-2011
Conditions Governing Access: Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact mss@lib.cam.ac.uk. Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (www.lib.cam.ac.uk).

The UK Archival Thesaurus has been integrated with our catalogue, thanks to Kings College London and the AIM25 project for their support with this.