Skip to main content

The Book Collector



The Book Collector, a quarterly journal, began publication in 1952. Its original editorial board was Ian Fleming (who provided financial backing), John Hayward, and Percy Muir. Early editors were Christopher Dobson (1952) and Philip Gaskell (1952-4); but Hayward took over thereafter and served until his death in 1965. He was succeeded the next year by Nicolas Barker, the present editor.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:


Papers of The Book Collector

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.9984
Scope and Contents

The collection contains correspondence of the two editors John Hayward and Nicolas Barker; 'article files'; various other editorial files; and business papers mainly relating to The Collector Ltd. (a holding company created in 1955).

Dates: 1951-2011
Conditions Governing Access: Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (