Skip to main content

Cambridge University Libraries are providing a blend of online and controlled in-person services. Please see our website for more details.

Cambridge Camden Society



The Cambridge Camden Society was founded in 1839 by a group of undergraduates at Trinity College, Cambridge, who shared an interest in medieval ecclesiastical architecture. The founders included Benjamin Webb, John Mason Neale and Alexander Beresford-Hope. During the 1840s the society transferred to London, where it became the Ecclesiological Society. The society ended in 1867, but was refounded by Beresford-Hope in 1879 as the St Paul's Ecclesiological Society. The previous name was restored in 1937. The society's journal, The ecclesiologist, was published from 1841 to 1868.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:


Cambridge Camden Society: List of Members and Resignations

Reference Code: GBR/0012/MS Add.5052
Scope and Contents

List of members with notes of the dates and reasons for their resignations, 1845, 92 folios. Additional lists of names occur at fos 76-80. Attached to fo. 1v is a letter from C.C. Babington to John Willis Clark, 22 March 1887.

Dates: 1845-1887
Conditions Governing Access: Unless restrictions apply, the collection is open for consultation by researchers using the Manuscripts Reading Room at Cambridge University Library. For further details on conditions governing access please contact Information about opening hours and obtaining a Cambridge University Library reader's ticket is available from the Library's website (